PDA

View Full Version : Are you considered to be a lawyer after finishing law school, or after passing the ba

dnooman
02-27-2005, 10:15 PM
A friend of mine has completed law school, but has not yet passed the bar, he still insists that he's a lawyer. Is this true? If so, that seems a bit misleading, since he can't practice law. Right?

dnooman
02-27-2005, 10:17 PM
A friend of mine has completed law school, but has not yet passed the bar, he still insists that he's a lawyer. Is this true? If so, that seems a bit misleading, since he can't practice law. Right?
The title should finish with ...after passing the bar?

In case that wasn't obvious, of course.

bump
02-27-2005, 10:24 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but I tend to think that if you have a Juris Doctorate and haven't passed the bar, you're just some lazy slob with a JD, not a lawyer.

He can call himself a lawyer, but no real attorney will take him seriously until he passes the bar.

Cunctator
02-27-2005, 10:43 PM
The distinction in Australia is generally between those who have successfully completed law degrees (an LLB) and those who have then gone on to do the necessary practical exams and work experience to be admitted as barristers or solicitors of the appropriate state Supreme Court. The latter are generically "lawyers". The former merely have law degrees.

AmyG
02-27-2005, 11:33 PM
There were three steps, at least for me, in becoming authorized to practice law:

1. Gain a J.D. from an accredited law school (a few jurisdictions in the U.S., I believe, allow for limited exceptions to this).