PDA

View Full Version : Somebody explain Charlie Watts to me

woodstockbirdybird
06-10-2008, 05:31 PM
I should mention that I'm a drummer. For some reason, Charlie Watts gets listed as a great drummer a lot, while Ringo is routinely (and unfairly, IMO) bashed. This despite the fact that I've never heard Watts do anything even remotely more complicated or interesting than Starr. I mean, I could play pretty much any Rolling Stones song after about the first 3 months I started drumming, and I can probably name off the top of my head at least a hundred better players, both from a technical and an innovative standpoint. The guy does basically the same 4/4 rock beat on every song, so why the love?

Hal Briston
06-10-2008, 06:08 PM
Because he's a member of the Stones, man!

Plus it's entertaining to watch him talk to himself as he drums.

ming the merciless
06-10-2008, 06:10 PM
I too have no idea, I have seen them live a couple of times and Charlie defiantly gets the biggest ovation when they step on stage.

ChockFullOfHeadyGoodness
06-10-2008, 06:13 PM
Do people love him for his drumming? Most of the love I've seen for him pertains to his persona. He's just....cool. By being so damn normal, he's cooler than the rest of them.

Mick has the debauchery and the Mars bars stories, Keith looks like he would have died 30 years ago if the Grim Reaper weren't afraid of him, Brian Jones was all kinds of messed up. Hell, even poker-faced stoic Bill Wyman is crazy enough to have his mother-in-law and daughter-in-law be the same person. But Charlie is so damn clean and normal. Not only that, he'd rather be playing jazz. Being in the "greatest rock and roll band in the world" just pays the bills. He was an anti-rock star years before grunge made it fashionable. If punk is doing your own thing, he's incredibly punk. Which makes him just....cool. If you go to a Stones show, he always gets the biggest cheers for the crowd.