PDA

View Full Version : Medeval TW II: Stainless Steel...what am I doing wrong?


XT
01-19-2009, 07:25 PM
I downloaded the Stainless Steel 6.1 release mod for MII TW this weekend and sat down to relearn how to play the game. It was a blast but I ran up against a really weird thing and I'm not sure if it's a bug or a feature...or just something I'm doing wrong.

What's happening is this. I'm playing the English in the early campaign. I've built up a number of my cities and castles, conquered all of the English Isles and most of France. The problem is I can't seem to get any units beyond the base militia spearman/peasant bowman level. I've unlocked the other units but every one of my castles has zero units available for the better types. My cities seem to be working fine...I have plenty of Billman/Heavy Billman units available, I've got merchant cavalry, etc. But in the castles, no matter how built up they are, there doesn't seem to be any of the high level units available for purchase.

I've skimmed through the SS 6.1 web site and the list of features, but either I'm missing it or it's not there. Anyone have any ideas?

-XT

XT
01-20-2009, 04:58 PM
Well, at least there are plenty of mercenaries available. I assume no one here knows what the problem is either? *sigh* It's still a pretty cool mod, even if I don't get all the cool units to play with.

-XT

appleciders
01-20-2009, 09:34 PM
I haven't played the mod, but...

Your castles, of course, have the required stables/ranges/barracks, right?

Failing that, you might check the building options tab; the one that's accessible from the city info screen. Check the buildings listed there; you might learn what buildings allow what units.

XT
01-20-2009, 10:04 PM
I have the required buildings. It's weird...the units are there, just greyed out. It says something like 6 turns until available, but they never are. It only seems to be the castles...though I can't get the seige units or semi-lancers in the cities either, though again I have the requisite buildings

-XT

MOIDALIZE
01-20-2009, 10:14 PM
Assuming your buildings aren't damaged, it's the result of Real Recruitment 1.0 (http://twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=162997), which is new for 6.1.

I haven't played SS in some time. I may have to give this a spin.

XT
01-20-2009, 10:20 PM
That makes sense but I can't seem to get any of the high level units at all except as mercs. Still it's good to know this is what's supposed to happen. Thanks for the link!

-XT

Mr. Kobayashi
01-20-2009, 10:33 PM
If all else fails pop up the console and construct everything you can;
Console opens with '
Type in "process_cq Cityname" (without the quotes) to finish what you're building.
add_population 4000 Cityname (only works in increments of 4000, at least in vanilla)
add_money 40000 (again, only works in those increments).

If you still can't build the best units possible after that, nothing will.

Interconnected Series of Tubes
01-21-2009, 03:13 AM
Assuming your buildings aren't damaged, it's the result of Real Recruitment 1.0 (http://twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=162997), which is new for 6.1.

I haven't played SS in some time. I may have to give this a spin.

This is, with overwhelming probability, the reason for this issue. The RR plugin requires a general in the city to recruit the upper-tier units, and while I adore Stainless Steel I -always- disable this option, there's a prompt that allows you to do so during the installation wizard. Once you do this, you'll get unfettered access to all the units you can recruit from your buildings. Keep in mind however that the medieval elite, particularly heavy cavalry, can often take six or more turns to replenish - but they're well worth the wait.

abel29a
01-21-2009, 05:46 AM
This is, with overwhelming probability, the reason for this issue. The RR plugin requires a general in the city to recruit the upper-tier units, and while I adore Stainless Steel I -always- disable this option, there's a prompt that allows you to do so during the installation wizard. Once you do this, you'll get unfettered access to all the units you can recruit from your buildings. Keep in mind however that the medieval elite, particularly heavy cavalry, can often take six or more turns to replenish - but they're well worth the wait.

Just to clarify - you need either your King, or a General who is a member of the War Council to recruit top tier units. If your empire gets to large only the king and his heir (if in the WC) can recruit top tier... As for WC members, I believe you can have a maximum of two, and you should not let a WC member die without giving the WC trait to another General...

I like this feature, as it severly limits my abilities to recruit the best units, meaning I end up using second tier/mercs very often, but not everybody's cup of tea, for sure :)

XT
01-21-2009, 09:39 AM
:smack: I've got generals in my castles but not the King or any of the heirs. I guess you can't repair units either unless you have a King or any heirs either? Makes sense though I agree it seems too restrictive. Would rather they limit the number of units available if they are going for balance.

I'll try and get a King into one of my major castles tonight and see how that works. Any idea how to disable this feature once the mod is installed?

-XT

XT
01-22-2009, 03:02 PM
BTW, putting the king in the castle definitely opens up those more exotic units (eventually...it takes several turns for them to become available even when he's in the place). It doesn't work for the heir to the throne though...he just sits there and no new units become available. it kind of sucks because I'd like to get special units from both castles AND from cities (musket troops are now in theory available in several of my cities). Also, a single castle has a very limited supply of special troops so it's almost not worth doing.

Still...VERY cool mod. Lots of mercs available, which is pretty much the bulk of my field armies these days. I think I have 4 field armies who have a solid core of Swiss Pikemen (best units in the game IMHO), cross bowmen and heavy German cavalry. I even have some mercenary musket units and siege guns that are doing quite nicely.

-XT

Best Topics: humidity bug kerosene can kava las vegas eureka oregon major storm lucifer mister falcon mix words rectum joke mid shift ruby coin chainsaw juggling resurface rotors price escort outcall lp speed long skinny cigarettes animal autopsy drink pure ethanol who invented neosporin buffets warning cathouse locations lifting one eyebrow ml volume arm garter cantor's diagonal snow blowing 20 900 vision over modulated military g2 cathouse nevada prices foodhold usa llc bill budd excessive talking disorder box under mattress top braces first filing teeth at home angels and devils cartoons jesus christ middle name why do accountants wear green visors is it worth joining aarp how much is one pound of pasta yellow speed limit sign can you download audible books to mp3 how long can you leave mayo out gillette fusion vs mach 3 mail box key lost mood disorders vs personality disorders eye glasses for distance how to serve guava u haul used trailers for sale tuna in oil or water why are cigarettes called fags how long does best buy store pickup take the princess bride 30th anniversary edition what did the romans look like prosecutor vs district attorney what does lasko ionizer do songs in 3/4 country songs about reuniting with an old love green bugs that bite sting send money to a paypal account without paypal friday the 13th chainsaw does windshield repair affect insurance nutty the friendly dump can butter substitute for vegetable oil space shuttle landing sites what is a pregnant goldfish called why do they call bread and butter pickles 1 gang old work box harder than chinese algebra