PDA

View Full Version : Illegal driving lesson with dad. So how can somebody learn to drive then?

aceplace57
10-08-2013, 11:43 AM
Teaching the kid how to drive is a tradition. I taught both my daughters. My uncle taught me. I can't think of anyone that I know that didn't learn from a relative.

This guy screwed up royally letting his kid learn in a small store parking lot. I taught both my daughters on a dirt road near my deer camp. Then we practiced on some country roads without traffic. Eventually, after a dozen trips on back roads, I let her drive to the outskirts of town before I took the wheel. We must have logged three hundred miles in six months before she took her drivers test. It's one of my favorite dad memories with my daughters.

What gets me is the citation for driving without a learners permit. :confused: You can't get a permit unless you pass the written test and the driving test. A total beginner can't get a learners permit.

Are they really criminalizing every person that teaches a relative to drive? Or did they just cite this guy for causing an accident? He was dumb as hell for letting a rank beginner learn in a small parking lot.
http://nydailynews.com/news/national/fail-teen-crashes-gas-station-father-son-driving-lesson-article-1.1479227
A Florida dad who took his son out for an illegal driving lesson has been left counting the cost - after he smashed their Toyota Camry straight into a store.

John Burbridge thought it would be a nice treat to take 16-year-old Andrew out onto the open road on Sunday to pass on his motoring skills.
<snip>
Hillsborough County Sheriff's deputies cited both Burbridge men for the incident - Andrew for driving without a learner's permit and his dad for permitting an unauthorized driver.

running coach
10-08-2013, 11:46 AM
Florida only requires written/online tests (http://flhsmv.gov/ddl/teendriv.html) for a learner's permit.

chrisk
10-08-2013, 11:48 AM