PDA

View Full Version : Ridiculous ATM programming

JcWoman
02-02-2015, 03:42 PM
Okay, ATM's are notorious for being horribly programmed, and this one has probably come up a time or two. But hang on, let me check my calendar.... yeah, it's now 2015. Surely some improvements have been made, but there is one bit of stupidity that my bank still has programmed into it's ATM's:

Pressing each digit one by one to specify how much cash you want. When the machine only dispenses ten or twenty dollar bills, there's no reason on this green earth that I should be able to type in amounts like these:

Anybody here work for a bank's IT department can explain this stupidity? I used to be a system engineer, so I understand how features sometimes have to be de-scoped from a project. But something as completely brain-dead as this never being fixed in, what, three decades now? Hello?

wolfman
02-02-2015, 03:52 PM
I hate that inconsistency shit. My normal machine is one of those so I get used to typing 2--0--0--0--0--Enter when I want 200 bucks.

But then I get a panic attack when I go to another machine to get 200 bucks, and it tells me insufficient funds, not realizing for a bit that I had asked for $20000.

Bryan Ekers
02-02-2015, 03:53 PM
There might come a time when ATMs dispense money orders or similar instruments that could have penny-accurate amounts, so better to have the capability now then try to add it later.

Speculating, of course.

cmosdes
02-02-2015, 03:58 PM
Okay, ATM's are notorious for being horribly programmed, and this one has probably come up a time or two. But hang on, let me check my calendar.... yeah, it's now 2015. Surely some improvements have been made, but there is one bit of stupidity that my bank still has programmed into it's ATM's:

Pressing each digit one by one to specify how much cash you want. When the machine only dispenses ten or twenty dollar bills, there's no reason on this green earth that I should be able to type in amounts like these: