PDA

View Full Version : John, Jack, what's the difference?

The Big Cheese
07-12-2001, 08:13 PM
My name is Thomas, but I go by Tom. My brothers is William, he goes by Bill. Why does someone named John often go by Jack?

John Kennedy, but they affectionately called him Jack.

Jack isn't any shorter, both contain 4 characters. I think it's a bit harder to say, John kinda rolls off the tongue. John is easier to type, all with the same hand.

What gives?

Schnitte
07-14-2001, 02:48 PM
I'm not an expert in those things, but I guess it's because Jack actually is more comfortable to pronounce (at least it seems so to me, but English is not my native tongue). The o in John is long (you don't say something like "Jn"), whereas the a in Jack is short (it's not really a vowel, the word is rather somthing like "Jk" if pronounced quickly; you don't even need to open your mouth). In everyday usage, I find Jack much more comfortable than John.
The number of characters in the word or the way of typing it will hardly affect the comfort of pronunciation, I would say.

rowrrbazzle
07-14-2001, 03:25 PM
"Jack" is just considered friendlier and less formal than "John", like "Tom" and "Thomas".

According to the OED, the origin of "Jack" as a nickname for "John" is disputed. Some think it's derived from the French "Jacques", but it's unknown how it got connected with "John". Another conjectured derivation is along the lines of "Johan" ("John"), "Jan", a "pet" diminutive "Jankin", "Jack".

mske
07-14-2001, 03:40 PM
John seems to almost a taboo name in my family. My grandfather's name was John. He was known as Jack. His son's, my father's, name is John Peter. He uses Peter only. My given names are Michael John. I go by Mike.

Swirdle
07-15-2001, 01:05 AM