Old 03-15-2004, 09:49 PM
Actuaries and Statisticians: Tell me about your jobs!

I am a High School Junior and I've recently become very interested in becoming an actuary. In ninth grade, my Geometry teacher (Who also has a PhD in Statistics; I'm taking AP Statistics with him next year) would often mention math-related fields, and he'd always bring up the actuarial field. He'd talk about how actuaries are some of the most satisfied, well-paid, comfortable, intelligent and needed people of any job. The only thing is, he'd never really mention what they actually did!

Anyway, I was drawn back to the field this year (I don't remember why) and I am now very interested. I know that the majority work with insurance companies, and they set and project insurance rates.

I would say I'm a very good math student- I get A's in AP Calculus; but most importantly I enjoy math and I want to pursue a career in it. Next year I'm taking AP Calculus 3 (BC), AP Statistics, AP Economics (also AP English and Environmental Science, but those are less to do with acturaries). I also believe I'm taking one or two math courses at a local (4-year) college this summer, and possibly some more next summer. (I really want to take a Discrete Math course, but that has less to do with a career and more that it seems interesting). In other words, I will have a LOT of math credits going into college. TONS. I'm also in Future Business Leaders of America (among other things).

My mom has a friend who works at Blue Cross (an insurance agency), and she asked a actuary coworker if I could come talk to him; not only did he say yes, but he suggested that I could talk about getting an internship over the summer with them! I am definitely pursuing that to the fullest extent.