Old 04-08-2004, 11:18 PM
Rocket Propelled Grenades vs. Hand Grenades

Perhaps like you, I saw some very unsettling footage on the news this evening--footage showing an M1A2 Abrahms battle tank just moments after an RPG slammed into it, lightly wounding two of the men inside and killing one, I believe.

My guess is that the explosive charge on an RPG is significantly larger than that of a hand grenade, but how much?

Also: about how fast does the RPG's rocket propel the grenade? Are we talking several hundred MPHs?

And what accounts for an RPG's penetrating ability? I'm guessing it's more than a simple F=M x A, including such factors as the density and shape of the RPG's nose.

Frankly, I'm stunned that an RPG could penetrate the armor of our best battle tank...
Old 04-08-2004, 11:48 PM
I am no expert in the field, but I know a thing or two.

An RPG, as opposed to a hand grenade, is not only much more potent, but also concentrates its whole explosive power on the point of impact.

A hand grenade creates something like a spherical explosion instead.

I haven't seen the footage (a link maybe?) but it is very dificult to seriously damage a M1 tank (which has reactive armour) with an RPG. There is one occasion(some test probably), where a M1 sustained two succesful hits from sovied-designed Israeli tanks and then striked back, incapacitating both enemy tanks.
Old 04-08-2004, 11:53 PM
I d'like to add that the attackers most probably got a lucky shot. Some places (like between the turret and the main body of the tank) are quite vulnerable.
Old 04-08-2004, 11:54 PM
Charter Member
M1 series tanks don't have reactive armor.
Old 04-09-2004, 12:07 AM
Charter Jays Fan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog80
II haven't seen the footage (a link maybe?) but it is very dificult to seriously damage a M1 tank (which has reactive armour) with an RPG.