Old 07-17-2004, 03:05 PM
Meaning of Freda Payne's song, "Band of Gold"

Lyrics here

I've been listening to this song for over thirty years, and I just realized that I don't know what the hell Freda is singing about.

What's the problem here? Can't he perform? Is he gay? What?
Old 07-17-2004, 03:08 PM
He left her.
Old 07-17-2004, 03:22 PM
Yep, he was a player.
Old 07-17-2004, 03:23 PM
To my understanding, the song is about impotence. He can't perform.

Quote:
Hoping soon that you'll walk
Back through that door
And love me like you tried before
Bolding mine.
Old 07-17-2004, 05:55 PM
I never had the impression it's about a cheating husband, or that he's literally absent.

He's physically inattentive (for whatever reason) and has been from the start.

There's that line about kissing at the wedding, but "that night on our honeymoon, we each slept in separate rooms."

When she sings about him "coming through the door," she's waiting in "her lonely room." She's not talking about the front door.

It's a song about a passionless marriage. Maybe he's impotent, maybe he's gay, maybe he finds her unappealing or threatening, but whatever his deal is, she's not getting any nookie.
Old 07-17-2004, 07:15 PM
<sigh>

They just don't make songs like that anymore.
Old 07-17-2004, 07:40 PM
Sounds like impotence to me.

I have it on a '70s compilation I got as a present. That's one song that actually sounds better on an old car radio over AM than it does on CD.
Old 07-17-2004, 08:45 PM
I always took the lyrics to mean that he left her, but after reading them--and noticing words I never noticed before--it's seems he is impotent...and awfully embarrased about it. Now that I think about it--he could have been gay. It's hard to tell one way or the other.

All I know is I tear up every single time I hear that song.
Old 07-17-2004, 08:49 PM