Closed Thread
Old 10-15-2005, 10:34 PM
Charter Member
Women who have big feet -- do you wear men's shoes?

I wear about a size 11 or 12 in women's shoes. I shop at DSW and every time I can even find a size 11 or 12 in the styles I would want to wear, the shoes are too tight. I wear comfortable, well padded Easy Spirit shoes to work and I was wondering what other Doper Wimmen with big feet do in order to be well shod. I've never done this before, but I just bought a couple pairs of sleek leather slip on shoes that were made for men. I'm afraid to buy shoes off the net, but there was a thread not too long ago about just that subject. What do you all do?
Old 10-15-2005, 11:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by medstar
I wear about a size 11 or 12 in women's shoes. I shop at DSW and every time I can even find a size 11 or 12 in the styles I would want to wear, the shoes are too tight. I wear comfortable, well padded Easy Spirit shoes to work and I was wondering what other Doper Wimmen with big feet do in order to be well shod. I've never done this before, but I just bought a couple pairs of sleek leather slip on shoes that were made for men. I'm afraid to buy shoes off the net, but there was a thread not too long ago about just that subject. What do you all do?
My 18 YO daughter has an 11W woman's foot which is more or less a man's 9.5 D - 10 D depending on brand. The problem she really has is finding "cute" shoes in popular women's styles and brands most of which cut off at size 10. All the "girly" stuff in her size is mostly off brand, 2nd tier junk re construction quality.

Having said this men's and women's feet do (on average) differ somewhat and a man's "last" (re the foot sole size model around which the shoe is built) will not necessarily be all that supportive for a women's foot as the width is likely to be wider and sloppier (for the woman) for a given narrow medium or wide width in a man's size.