Old 10-28-2005, 09:35 PM
Can I boost the reception of a compact portable FM radio?

Can I boost the reception of a compact portable FM radio? If so, how?

I have had few "Red Greene" kind of ideas, but I don't want to light myself up like a Xmas tree, lol.

e.g. - attach an amplified antenna to the pull-out antenna via a piece of wire with alligator clips at each end. Bad idea?

Anyone have any GOOD (and very cheap) ideas to boost my signal gain?
Old 10-28-2005, 10:35 PM
As an ex-Radio Shack Manager I sold lots of antennas. Amplified antennas are generally a waste of time and usually amplify noise and signal, not just signal. There are a few scenarios where they can be helpful, but these are fairly limited.

Unless you have an external antenna input attaching something directly to the existing antenna of the radio is not going to do much in most cases. Your best bet is simply to get higher quality portable radio with an external antenna input, and good FM sensitivity and selectivity, but that's not going to be super low cost.
Old 10-29-2005, 12:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by astro
As an ex-Radio Shack Manager I sold lots of antennas. Amplified antennas are generally a waste of time and usually amplify noise and signal, not just signal. There are a few scenarios where they can be helpful, but these are fairly limited.

Unless you have an external antenna input attaching something directly to the existing antenna of the radio is not going to do much in most cases. Your best bet is simply to get higher quality portable radio with an external antenna input, and good FM sensitivity and selectivity, but that's not going to be super low cost.
Thanks for the input, astro. You being someone knowledged in said area, are there any particular brands / models of small portable radios, with outstanding reception capabilities, that you would recommend?