Old 02-20-2008, 05:13 PM
Can you grow taller as an adult?

When I graduated high school I was 5' 4.75" measured by a drs office. In 2003, at age 35, I was again measured by a drs office and I was 5' 5.25". I just got back from a new doctor this morning and I was measured at 5' 5.75"! I made them do it twice 'cause I was so surprised.

Can you grow in height as an adult? I've tried to research this online and found a bunch of flakey site selling snake oil to shorties. But some sites do mention that an increase in disc thickness can lead to a taller stature. I took up rowing about 9 or 10 years ago and I've read rowers tend to have thicker spines. Could this cause me to gain height?
Old 02-20-2008, 05:20 PM
I did the same thing. I don't remember the specifics, but I grew about an inch between highschool and my late twenties, and then another inch between then and my mid-thirties.

Last I checked, I haven't grown any more in the ~10 years since.
Old 02-20-2008, 05:25 PM
Your height varies depending on the time of day. You are generally ~0.5-1" taller in the morning than you are at night. Standing around squeezes the water out of your joints and compresses your vertibrae and makes you shorter. They 'decompress' at night making you a bit taller in the morning.

To answer your question about growing as an adult though, no, you cannot. Generally by age 25 (somewhat earlier in men and sometimes a bit later in women) your growth plates have fused and even taking massive amounts of growth hormones will not have an effect on your height.
Old 02-20-2008, 05:28 PM
Well, if you had a brain disorder like Robert Wadlow, it would be possible. I don't recommend that though.

Last edited by Flander; 02-20-2008 at 05:31 PM.
Old 02-20-2008, 05:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flander
Well, if you had a brain disorder like Robert Wadlow, it would be possible. I don't recommend that though.