Old 03-03-2008, 06:10 PM
Where is a good place to get a motorcycle loan?

Wow, I'm on a posting hot-streak lately!

Anyways, my car has a bad alternator and is currently (har-har) up for sale. My fiancee's car just got T-Boned yesterday by a girl with a learner's permit. I drive an hour to work everyday, and being able to use the HOV lane would be great. I've always been in love with motorcycles, and have ridden a little bit in the past. I would love to get one, but am not sure where to get a loan for it.

Here is the deal: I have bad credit. I made some mistakes when I didn't have stable employment or a stable woman in my life (the ex was a money-hog), and I had a bankruptcy that got discharged last June. My bank is reluctant to talk to me, and their smallest loan is $7500 for a bike. I'm looking for something used in the $2500 to $3500 range. Is there anyone who will deal with someone like me? I am a high school teacher now, so my employment (and payment from them) is stable. I have a student loan which is in rehabilitation and a small balance on a credit card.

I found http://motorcycleloancenter.com, but I'm not sure how reputable they are.

Any words of wisdom?
Old 03-03-2008, 09:52 PM
Have you tried the bank or credit union where you have your checking account? They may be may comfortable with you since you have a history there.
Old 03-03-2008, 10:06 PM
Like I said, the smallest MC loan at Chase (the bank I deal with) is $7500. I just don't want a bike that expensive. I'd rather get something used that would be cheaper to insure.
Old 03-03-2008, 10:07 PM
Charter Member