Old 02-24-2009, 01:07 PM
Grading on a curve

In your opinion, what constitutes "grading on a curve"?

For example, if a teacher applies a scale where 90-100%=A, 80-89%=B, 70-79%=C, 60-69%=D, and 59 and below=F - did the teacher apply a curve?

What if the teacher above finds his class did poorly, so he drops the standard for each grade 10 points such that 80-100%=A, 70-79=B, etc. - have they now curved the results?

How about, instead of lowering the scale 10 points, the teacher adds 10 points to each students' score?

Or does a curve require that a teacher give As to the highest 10%, Bs to the next 20%, and so on?

Just curious as to folks' opinions. I was speaking with a teacher who said they had applied a curve in the second example above - where they adjusted the 90-80-70-60% scale down 10 points. I said that wasn't what I considered applying a curve. But I have no knowledge of how that term is approrpaietly used in educational circles.
Old 02-24-2009, 01:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinsdale View Post
In your opinion, what constitutes "grading on a curve"?

For example, if a teacher applies a scale where 90-100%=A, 80-89%=B, 70-79%=C, 60-69%=D, and 59 and below=F - did the teacher apply a curve?
No. And I won't hear anything from any of you heretics who think there are grading scales where 90% isn't an A. The 90-100 = A et cetera scale was written on the back of the Ten Commandments. Written under it is "Thou shalt never curve grades down".

Quote:
What if the teacher above finds his class did poorly, so he drops the standard for each grade 10 points such that 80-100%=A, 70-79=B, etc. - have they now curved the results?
Yes.

Quote:
How about, instead of lowering the scale 10 points, the teacher adds 10 points to each students' score?
I've never heard of a teacher doing that.

Quote:
Or does a curve require that a teacher give As to the highest 10%, Bs to the next 20%, and so on?