Old 07-24-2009, 06:32 AM
Anyone gone from being uptight to being fun?

My husband wants to be less uptight and be more fun, and I'm wondering if any dopers have ever gone through that transformation?

He was a single child in a difficult family situation, and consequently did not experience much fun in his childhood. I came from a really fun family so being (and having) fun is just second nature to me and I'm not very good at explaining why I find certain things fun.

I've found a good website, which I've suggested he read through, called Succeed Socially and it has a good article about loosening up. From having known him for twelve years, I think the opening paragraphs really nail his 'uptightness:'

http://succeedsocially.com/loosenup
Quote:
One broad way to do better with people is to lighten up a bit. A common thread running through a lot of my old unsociable behaviors and attitudes is that I was just too uptight.
- I got irritated by social annoyances that most people let slide.
- I cared too much about whether people were being inconsiderate and thoughtless or not.
- I looked down on what I saw as silly, immature behavior.
- I thought I always to had to be controlled and well-behaved. I couldn't let loose and enjoy myself.

Naturally this got in the way of my getting along with people. As I learned to do better in various social situations, it often struck me that what I was really doing was just learning to loosen up. When you're more easygoing as a whole, the benefits affect so many different areas.

Uptightness is a complicated concept. At its heart are traits like:
- Having rigid, unrealistic standards about how you and other people should act, and how the social world should be.
- Not being able to relax and ease up on your standards.
- Being too sensitive to little irritations from the social world, and in people's breaches of your standards.
- Being too touchy and tending to overreact when things do go wrong.