Old 12-04-2010, 11:26 PM
Bourbon Drinkers: A Question

I'm still a novice bourbon drinker but I've never had this happen before and wonder if I did something wrong.

I ordered a "Makers Mark, neat". To me, that means the bourbon is served without ice in an old-fashioned cocktail glass.

The server said, "um, you mean straight up?" I replied, "Well, yes, same as "on the rocks" but without the ice."

She brought me a shot glass of bourbon. A shot glass? I sent it back and again repeated my order. The server said, "so, you want a double?" We were interrupted by the owner of the restaurant and the server left without any further conversation. A few minutes later she brought me the damn drink in the right glass.

I've never been served bourbon in a shot glass but like I said, I'm still the rookie. What the hell was that about?
Old 12-05-2010, 12:02 AM
Charter Member
Few bartenders these days actually know a damn thing about bartending.
Ask for a Manhattan or a Rob Roy and you'll most likely get a blank stare.
Used to be a bartender was a professional - now most are a pretty face and a c-cup.

Damn kids.
Old 12-05-2010, 12:54 AM
I agree. The bartender didn't know what to do.

I see you are in Indiana. Do you have a reasonable drive to Louisville?
Old 12-05-2010, 01:32 AM
Charter Member
You did nothing wrong. This exact same thing has happened to me before. Took me a couple seconds to get over my surprise to explain to the bartender that "neat" means "pour it in a rocks glass, no ice." I can't remember exactly where I was, but it was outside my usual drinking area, so I thought perhaps "neat" wasn't part of the local lingo, or something.
Old 12-05-2010, 02:16 AM
You were right, the bartender was clueless.
Old 12-05-2010, 12:08 PM
I'm in northern Indiana so Louisville is about 4 hours away. I've not had the pleasure of sipping whiskey in Kentucky yet.
Old 12-05-2010, 12:09 PM
yep, clueless bartender.