Old 02-08-2001, 12:41 PM
I pluck my nose hairs on a periodic basis. I use a pair of needle-nosed pliers I bought just for doing this (I disinfect them with alcohol before use).

Someone recently told me that "It's dangerous to pluck nose hairs." She said it could cause an infection, it could destroy the hair follicles, blaa, blaa, blaa.

I've been doing it for over 8 years and haven't gotten an infection. And so what if it damages the hair follicles? I don't want them to grow anyway.

So am I doing any irreversible harm to myself? Has anyone actually gotten an infection from plucking their nose hairs?
Old 02-08-2001, 12:50 PM
Women regularly pluck hairs from all parts of their bodies, yet they donít have all over infections (save a couple of ex-girlfriends). God if I didnít pluck, I would have nasal hair around my knees by now
Old 02-08-2001, 01:10 PM
OUCH!

That makes me cringe just thinking about it.

Why don't you just buy one of those "Turbo Groomer" things from Sharper Image? That way you can do your ear hair too.
Old 02-08-2001, 01:19 PM
Charter Member
Yep, it's possible to get an infection, just the same as it's possible to get an infection from popping a zit. You can also get infections just by being alive. The danger with the nasal area, though, is that the veins that drain the area under the nose end up emptying straight back into the brain, and there's an old adage about not messing with anything inside the nose and the filtrum area because you don't want that to happen because of dire consquences. (Now diagram that!) At least, that's how it could work in theory. Now, finding an actual documented case of it is as elusive as finding one of a candiru catfish attack.
Old 02-08-2001, 01:26 PM
Yikes! My eyes are watering just thinking about it. Brrrrrr.