Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Old 01-07-2011, 07:00 AM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 8,858
Fluorescent light very dim. Is this the ballast?

Our kitchen light, which uses two 4-foot fluorescent light bulbs, is very dim. Is this a sign the ballast needs to be replaced? Both bulbs are very dim, but evenly lit along their length and both the same as each other. Since it started doing this, one time it lit fully for about five or ten minutes. This morning they were completely dark at first, but are now very dim again.

I tried reading through this page, but my eyes glazed over.
#2
Old 01-07-2011, 07:08 AM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 8,858
I'll add that, other than turning it on or off, no one has touched the light or fixture in about a year (to clean it). It's mounted on the ceiling. I last changed the bulbs maybe seven years ago.
#3
Old 01-07-2011, 08:14 AM
Guest
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,238
Just go buy some bulbs, they're like $5 a pair. Seven years is a good run for fluorescent bulbs. The starter's probably gone out in the tube which would be fixed by buying new bulbs.
#4
Old 01-07-2011, 10:07 AM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12,056
try new bulbs
#5
Old 01-07-2011, 06:06 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 8,858
I can try new bulbs, but I'd rather not go and buy new buIbs and then have to return to the store to get a new ballast. I thought someone might know offhand whether it's the bulbs or the ballast.
#6
Old 01-07-2011, 08:59 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,781
It could be the tubes, the ballast, or both. I have had many a store manager or property manager give me a work order to change a ballast when the only thing wrong was the tubes.

If it is a cheap fixture after 7 years probably ballast. Probably not a starter because the light is not blinking.

Here is how I always do this job. I change both lights if there is still a problem then I change the ballast. And after changing the ballast I leave the new tubes in the fixture. So you are not wasting your time getting new tubes you need them anyway.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Copyright © 2017
Best Topics: edinburgh pronounced metered letters definition french trickler slimy turkey christian superheroes 120 db arasys slimming system dark bottom pools level boards video real erotica dropping motorcycle hypnotized chicken laundered shirts flatware and silverware wax heads ear wax test akc naming rules black candles identify cocoons hangman history boot camp shower bone pun vizio audio settings the rifleman gun aliens affirmative eating peanut shells basf advertising homes mexican slang roman legion motto lactose intolerance fart sharing razors haitan divorce my work here is done how to purge easily and quietly name for male ballerina motion sensor for fluorescent lights can you use gift cards for alcohol ruth chris tampa dress code how long do schools keep records when did 2x4 change size how to fill camelbak jazz song lincoln commercial 2015 propane problems in cold weather water please in spanish why do women like fisting scarlett pomers bra size what does 20 to life mean do hard drives get heavier more data who played kay in the godfather paypal shows up in chinese how do i stop others from seeing my comments on facebook how many inches is a head taller how to know if i snore genius of the restoration black people body odor do women like dp average time to fall asleep i love you both in spanish college football interception rules what do you get when you cross jokes how much prozac to overdose trisha yearwood's chicken and dumplings bull in other languages this is why we can't have nice things. deter robins from building nest secondhand lions alternate ending how do i get amazon prime on my vizio smart tv oldest forum on the internet