Old 01-13-2011, 04:29 PM
Used car / lien report on carfax

Hello, I am interested in purchasing a used car and was looking at the carfax. It says a "lien reported" in 2003 but it doesn't say anything about it being resolved. The registration was renewed every year after so it was still being driven and everything seems to have been in order. I asked the dealer over the phone and he said to me it was resolved... I asked for it in writing and he told me that it was resolved when the title was transferred. Is that true or should I be worried / avoid the car?
Old 01-13-2011, 04:37 PM
AFAIK it's my understanding that a car's title belongs to the lienholder, in most cases a bank or other financing institution, so if the dealership is holding the title then the lien must have been resolved.
Old 01-13-2011, 07:02 PM
Thank you for the information. The dealer did tell me that they have the title so perhaps it was resolved. I've never used carfax before, I just assumed I should see a "lien resolved" type note in that specific section of the report.
Old 01-13-2011, 07:23 PM
The trouble with Carfax is that it's totally dependent on garages/financial institutions/government agencies to report and only some of them do, and some only do it intermittently. It's handy for detecting things like odometer rollbacks and "cleaned" salvage titles, but it isn't a definitive vehicle history. I wouldn't discount the car just because of that seemingly unresolved item, but I would definitely give it a little more scrutiny.