Closed Thread
Old 04-25-2011, 10:44 PM
Charter Member
Rainbow vacuum cleaner

My wife and I are looking into buying a Rainbow Vacuum Cleaner, however, it costs close to $2,400 for a new one. I've had a demonstration, and it seems worth it, but before I spend that type of money I was wondering if any dopers have any experience with them.

So, does anyone have any experience with Rainbow? Is it worth $2,400? Will it last? What can anyone tell me about them?
Advertisements
Old 04-25-2011, 11:19 PM
Charter Member
I have no experience with that brand, but $2,400? Seriously? The top-rated upright vacuum cleaner (a Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Edition U6485-900) in the Consumer Reports ratings costs a tenth of that price. How long would that Rainbow vacuum cleaner have to last to justify that price?

Last edited by Dewey Finn; 04-25-2011 at 11:19 PM.
Old 04-25-2011, 11:52 PM
I HATE HATE HATED the damned thing!!!!!!!!!!! My mom, sis and I went together and bought one (it was a lot less that $2400 at the time). Then, several years later my then boyfriend bought one just before we moved in together. Yeah, they vacuum well, if you don't mind emptying the water tank approximately 90,000 times with each vacuuming!

I bought Dyson pet pro (or whatever they're called) and I find that does JUST as good a job as the Rainbow ever did. The only thing the Rainbow did better was that it had a shampooer attachment.

One tip though, my boyfriend actually searched pawn shops for several months and found one there. It was in perfect shape. (yet I still hated it, we had stairs too, try lugging THAT monster up and down the stairs, thing weighs more than a small child ).

Anyway, if you really REALLY want one, I'd say try that, beats the hell out of paying all that money for a fancy gadget.
Old 04-25-2011, 11:59 PM
Their website doesn't make me hopeful.
Old 04-26-2011, 12:09 AM
I have known several people who bought Rainbows. I never understood why.