Old 11-21-2011, 08:30 PM
I tried the treatment for head lice and my scalp is still crawling (ick!). What do I do?

Just this morning my head started crawling and, being a preschool teacher, I had a strong suspicion it was head lice. Sure enough, I've got lovely little bugs and their eggs in my hair. I did the treatment about an hour and a half ago but my head is still itching. I can't get someone to pick the lice out of my hair until tomorrow but in the meantime they need to be dead so I can go back to work tomorrow. What went wrong and what should I do?
Old 11-21-2011, 08:44 PM
Charter Member
Haven't had lice since I was in 2nd grade, but I have read on the various lice threads on the Dope that tea tree oil works on lice, and apparently if you goop the hell out of your hair with something oily it can break the bonds that hold the nits to the hair shaft, so maybe get some tea tree oil and a tea tree conditioner, and dose the hell out of your hair, and take the finest comb you can lay hands on and comb your hair out to at least get the dead bugs combed out?

Or shave your head and nuke it from orbit?
Old 11-21-2011, 08:50 PM
Put mayo in your hair, wrap it in a towel and wait for two hours. Then, comb every strand of your hair with a nit comb. Then wash the mayo out, wash with Rid shampoo, and then do a follow up nit combing.

Burn everything your head touched.
Just kidding! (not really!)
Old 11-21-2011, 09:40 PM
As someone whose kid got sent home three times in two weeks for lice* and actually called a service once (I lived in NYC, this may not be available in your area), I'm practically an expert.