Old 06-18-2012, 08:34 PM
Whats the straight dope on Maximizer vs Quikrete concrete Mix?

pouring a 4' x 8' 4 in slab. Home Depot guy urged me to use Maximizer because it requires less bags and is supposedly stronger PSI. It's also more expensive. But, Home Depot guy claims the cost is about the same because there's less bags used.

I'd used Quikrete in the past. But, am always open to something better.

Quikrete's online calculator says 32 sq ft is 24- 60 lb bags. Maximizer calculates it as 22- 40 lb bags.

I really like the sound of those 40 lb bags. 60 lb bags get kind of heavy after the tenth bag is carried a hundred feet into the backyard.

So what's the straight dope? Is Maximizer all it's cracked up (he he) to be?

Last edited by aceplace57; 06-18-2012 at 08:37 PM.
Old 06-18-2012, 09:31 PM
I'm not a concrete expert, but I do know that the stiffer you make the concrete mix (i.e. less water) the stronger it'll end up. That's probably a more important variable than the brand of concrete you buy to pour your slab.
Old 06-18-2012, 10:06 PM
Normally I'd never ask about two brands. Chevy or Ford. Flip a coin. They are basically the same car.

Home Depot guy made specific claims about Maximizer. Was he full of uh concrete? Or is he right?

Thought I'd give the S Dope a try before flipping a coin. Guys that have used Maximizer may have noticed a difference worth commenting about.

Last edited by aceplace57; 06-18-2012 at 10:07 PM.
Old 06-18-2012, 11:01 PM
Well I did a little digging

according to Maximizer 80lbs = 1.0 cu

according to Quickcrete 80lbs = .6 cu

Went to a contractor blog and found this

http://contractortalk.com/f48/co...roweled-90428/

Scroll down and look at posts 5 thru 9

Looks like they are having problems keeping the moisture in the mix using Maximizer FWIW

CAPT
Old 06-19-2012, 01:14 AM
thanks. I've been building & leveling my form tonight. Tired and a bit sore from the digging.

I'll pick one and go with it.