Old 06-30-2012, 09:12 PM
Why do they play bagpipes at police funerals?

This is in response to Cecil's reference to the movie Braveheart in the column about bagpipes being used at police funerals. I am not an expert in bagpipes, but I know that there are many different kinds, and as a musician and frequent listener of bagpipe music I noticed something strange about the bagpipe and funeral scene in the movie. The pipes being played appeared to be Scottish highland pipes (the most recognizable), yet the sound is definitely that of the Uillean pipes, also called the Irish bagpipes. Again, bagpipes come in many different shapes, sizes, playing styles, and sounds, but this part of the movie bothered me because of the inaccuracy.
Old 06-30-2012, 09:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvanF View Post
The pipes being played appeared to be Scottish highland pipes (the most recognizable), yet the sound is definitely that of the Uillean pipes, also called the Irish bagpipes. Again, bagpipes come in many different shapes, sizes, playing styles, and sounds, but this part of the movie bothered me because of the inaccuracy.
Welcome! Nitpicking bagpipes? You are going to fit right in.

Column in question (it's usually considered polite to include a link to the column): https://academicpursuits.us/columns/...olice-funerals
Old 06-30-2012, 11:11 PM
Ah, thanks, I shall do so in the future
Old 06-30-2012, 11:56 PM
I assumed they made the mourners listen to bagpipes to show the departed that there are things far worse than being dead.
Old 07-01-2012, 06:03 AM
Charter Member
EvanF--glad you're here!

A bagpipe aficionado will feel right at home among the iconoclasts, nitpickers, wool-gatherers & other human woodpeckers here at the SDMB.
Old 07-01-2012, 07:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by don't ask View Post
I assumed they made the mourners listen to bagpipes to show the departed that there are things far worse than being dead.
That must make the departed feel very relieved

!?!?