Old 02-19-2013, 04:46 AM
So I am starting to play Crusader Kings 2. Any hints?

Crusader Kings 2 and a bunch of DLCs are on discount at Steam, so I grab the bundle. Now I am facing the daunting task of...playing the game. A friend of mine loves the series, and the way he describes it to me, Crusader Kings 2 is like the Rogue-like of turn based strategy games. One wrong move, one random mishap, and you can kiss your dynasty bye bye.

So...how do I get started? There are so many types of laws, characters, factions, levies...etc. etc. etc. Any hints for a complete newbie?
Advertisements
Old 02-19-2013, 11:07 AM
Subscribing to this thread 'cause I'm in the same situation. It seems so awesome... and so daunting at the same time. I've heard starting out as a lowly minor duke vs a king is the best way to start out.
Old 02-19-2013, 11:17 AM
My general advice for dealing with Paradox games. Start a game, play for a little bit. Try to figure out one place you went wrong. Start over. Repeat as necessary.

Particular advice for CK2. I would definitely advise against starting as a king. My recommendation for early games is Earl Murchad of Dublin. You only start with a single county, but will soon inherit Leinster from your elderly father. (You can learn about the intrigue system by hastening his demise). You are unlikely to face any major threats in the short term, so you can concentrate on gaining the titles and lands necessary to be crowned King of Ireland. From there, you can choose which way to go, but you'll probably be strong enough to either obtain land on Crusades or to make a run for Emperor of Brittania.
Old 02-19-2013, 03:20 PM
The tutorials were actually pretty good, in terms of learning how the interface works. With recent updates, I understand they've become less useful as some of the buttons have been moved around.