Old 05-09-2014, 12:34 PM
"Midterm week" at college - huh?

I recently applied for a faculty position at a community college. Yesterday I looked at their academic calendar, and each semester has the usual stuff listed - registration, classes begin, last day to drop, finals week, etc. But also, halfway through each semester, there is a week labeled "midterm exams."

I've been a student at eight different colleges and universities during my life, and worked at three others, in three states (all on the West Coast, if it matters). I've never heard of such a thing. Everywhere I've studied/worked, the number of exams given, and when they are given, is up to the individual instructor. The most common model I experienced as a student was to have two exams during the quarter, roughly 1/3 and 2/3 of the way through. I myself prefer to give three exams, to narrow down the amount of material that needs to be studied for each (students seem to prefer this). If I was teaching in the semester system, I'd probably give four or five exams over the course of the term. And, I base the timing of tests on when a particular unit is finished, not "Exam 1 must be done on Day 6, as that is 1/4 of the way through the term."

I realize policies will vary from college to college, but is this "midterm week" thing common? Does this mean this college requires that a single midterm be given, and it must be done during that week?
Old 05-09-2014, 12:38 PM
Midterm week was a "thing" at my university. Usually held around the end of October and then right before Spring Break.
Old 05-09-2014, 01:01 PM
Every college I've been to had mid-term week. I thought it was universal.
Old 05-09-2014, 01:45 PM
I'm on the east coast and have always had midterm week. Not all teachers have midterm exams at that point, but that's when midterm grades went out. So if you were failing a course you got notification around that time.
Old 05-09-2014, 01:55 PM