PDA

View Full Version : Best way to answer the phone

Cluricaun
12-19-2003, 06:07 PM
My job consists of mainly answering the phone day in and day out, and of course we have a standard opening (Thank you for calling blah blah...)

However, this is not enough (on many levels). I need more interesting ways to answer the phone before I go completely sideways with boredom. Suggestions?

Stover9
12-19-2003, 06:18 PM
"beeeep" - you've reached XYZ Company - please press 1 for ________, press 2 for ________, etc

ala - Kramer doing Moviephone on Seinfeld.

misstee
12-19-2003, 06:46 PM
This is my standard way of answering the phone at work:

Good morning ( afternoon, or evening )
Thank you for calling XXXX.

I am always cheerful when I answer the phone. It makes a big difference. I could answer the phone for a living.

scout1222
12-19-2003, 06:51 PM
I'm always partial to "Bueno!"

Or, according to my Italian boss "Pronto!"

Stover9
12-19-2003, 06:52 PM
What insurance company do you work for misstee?

Mr2001
12-19-2003, 07:31 PM
When I worked for a Chinese restaurant, I usually answered like so: "Restaurant Name?"

But when I got bored, I'd make it a little more professional, even though we weren't a chain restaurant or even very professional: "Thanks for choosing the Valley Restaurant Name, home of General Tso's chicken. Would you like to try a combination meal?"

I like the Moviephone idea...

"Thanks for calling Business Name. We are located on the north side at 12345 N. Madison. Please listen carefully to the following options, as our menu has changed. For sales, press or say 1. For accountz receevable, press or say 2. If you know your party's extension, press or say 3. Otherwise, stay on the line and I will be with you shortly."

phraser
12-19-2003, 07:45 PM
I have a friend who answers his home phone as such:
"Good evening, Lady Lydia's Latex Lair of Love, how may we service you this evening?"