PDA

View Full Version : WTF is up with the GRE (verbal section specifically)?

Cubsfan
10-21-2004, 11:49 PM
Where the hell do they come up with these words that they expect you to know how to use? I realize that there are alot of words out there that I don't know the meaning of, but typically I can figure it out by reading it used in a sentence.

What is the purpose of seeing if someone knows that antonym of the word EBULLIENCE?

And then they give you choices that are once-in-a-lifetime use words as the antonym so I can not only not know the question, but not understand the answers either.

Granted I've only taken some practice tests to get ready for the real deal but I'm guessing that they are similiar in format and word selection.

I just don't understand how testing someone on their knowledge of the definitions of obscure words is a useful tool for seeing if someone is ready for grad school.

FTR, I'm an engineer who had a 3.75 GPA in my undergrad. I'm routinely scoring between 690 and 750 on these practice tests for quantitave scores but am boucing around bigtime on verbal scores betweem 320 and 600!

WTF?!?!

pepperlandgirl
10-21-2004, 11:58 PM
I'm taking my GREs on Monday, and so far, I haven't done too badly on the practice verbal tests.

I don't think they actually expect you to know the definitions to all those obscure words. It's better than that. They expect you to figure it out based on the process of elimination and knowledge of the root, prefixes, and suffixes.

So take heart!

I'm going to get fucked over in the math section. It's awful because I remember learning all those things 7 years ago in high school--none of it looks foreign to me--but I'll be damned if I can remember any of the actual steps for solving them.

ouryL
10-22-2004, 12:28 AM
I do well in general, but I am slow...

Bryan Ekers
10-22-2004, 12:46 AM
Are there any online practice tests? I like any opportunity to act smug.

Helen's Eidolon
10-22-2004, 12:57 AM