PDA

View Full Version : Do sniper guns ever have those lasers planted on them?

MadderMitch
07-18-2005, 04:57 PM
You know, like the ones Arnie has in Terminator II: Judgement Day?

I've heard that laser-light aim is pretty pointless to use on a gun with a telescopic cross-hair, since it really doesn't add any accuracy to the shot.

Indeed, it's more likely to tip off the unsuspecting target.

However, how come I see it used in the movies all the time? I think even in a docu I saw on Discovery in which they reconstructed an actual murder where the assassin used a laser-sighted gun with tele-crosshairs.

Does this really ever happen?

And if it can't be used in an assassination then what the heck is the point of them anyways?

Let's face it, doesn't it make more sense to always use the cross-hairs since it NEVER really warns off a target?

msmith537
07-18-2005, 05:07 PM
I'm not an expert on weapons or anything, but I am under the impression that the advantage of a laser sight is that you can light up the target quickly at close range without taking time to aim down the sight. If you are in a conceiled sniper position, it seems to me that such a laser would be both redundent and pointless.

msmith537
07-18-2005, 05:10 PM
Oh and the scope on the ".45 Long Slide, with laser sighting" also seemed pointless... as pistols are close-ranged weapons.

hende
07-18-2005, 05:13 PM
I remember viewing a special on the history channel or TLC or something similar about snipers. I recall that snipers do everything possible to conceal their location including using non-reflective scopes and such. It seems to me that if they used a laser pointer it would give away their position, which is the exact thing they are trying to avoid in the first place. Just my guess though.

Crafter_Man
07-18-2005, 05:20 PM
They're useless IMO.

On a handgun you should learn to focus on your front sight, not the target.