PDA

View Full Version : Give me the quick and dirty on Psionics (AD&D 3.5)

Agent Foxtrot
01-06-2011, 08:19 AM
I'm part of a D&D group who has met weekly since last March. The DM is great, but has been running our Forgotten Realms adventure for almost a year and would like to take a break every few sessions to play a PC. Thus, I've volunteered to run a background Dark Sun campaign with Neutral- or Evil-aligned characters, and everyone seems excited about it.

However, in the Dark Sun campaign, every person has an innate psionic ability. I've have pretty much every manual on my computer, and I can't seem to find out exactly how psionics work (I've never used them before). Can someone give me a quick run-down of how to use them and possibly where I can find a list of spells? Thanks much.

Stormcrow
01-06-2011, 08:38 AM
The main 3.5 Psionics book that you want is the Expanded Psionics Handbook, which is the 3.5 version of the Psionics Handbook. You can get by with just that one book, although there are a handful of other books out there if you want more (complete psionic is the other main WOTC book - Malhavoc Press has a couple of neat Psionics related books that are worth looking at). Its got powers, classes, prestige classes, monsters, etc. A lot of the psionics stuff is also available on the various online SRD's (although not certain monsters like the Yuan Ti or Githyanki).

Psionics work off of power points. There are psionic classes, but there are also a handful of feats that allow a non-psi to manifest a power (psi-speak for "cast a spell"). Powers are chosen more like a sorceror than a wizard, but powers can often be enhanced by spending more power points.

I've been running a campaign that has a Psion PC for about 7 years now, so I can give you a lot of feedback on this.

Agent Foxtrot
01-06-2011, 11:22 AM
Thanks for the info, Stormcrow! I guess the power points work just like MP in any computer RPG?

By the way, your name isn't "Joe" by any chance, is it...?