PDA

View Full Version : Bikini Waxing vs. Epilator (for those who have experienced both)

emBee
04-04-2011, 08:11 PM
Here's the deal. I'm a guy. I've been removing my pubic hair for a while (10 years). I do it because I like how it feels, I like how it looks, and I think it prevents odors after a long day -- though I've read arguments either way. If you think there's something weird/wrong/abnormal about it, I don't particularly care. I shaved for a while and I recently tried waxing for a few months. When I waxed I made sure I followed the directions, but I still ended up with ingrown hairs and bumps. I had 5 or so ingrown hairs per waxing, and a lot of hairs that had trouble breaking the surface of the skin (20 or 30) that I needed to help out with tweezers. I applied Tend-Skin and I exfoliated daily. The ingrown hairs usually took about 3 weeks to be able to get out with tweezers and left a red spot for another week, and a dark blemish on the skin for another three weeks or so. Not cool. I want something longer-lasting than waxing, but with fewer ingrown hairs.

I have light-ish skin with thick, dark hair. The hair is normally pretty dense, but since I waxed for a while, it's a bit sparser than normal. I'd say that now it's average density.

Judging from the length of most of the problem hairs, I think the problem hairs were broken instead of pulled out. I'm thinking of buying a rotary epilator in the hopes that it will result in fewer broken hairs, fewer red bumps, and fewer ingrown hairs.

So, here's my question for ladies and gentlemen who have removed their pubic hair both via waxing and epilation for more than a few uses: Does epilation result in fewer broken hairs / bumps / ingrown hairs than waxing?

samclem
04-04-2011, 08:15 PM
While there will be many factual answers, many will be personal opinions and experiences. Therefore, this is better suited to IMHO. Moved from GQ.

samclem Moderator.

elfkin477
04-04-2011, 08:45 PM