Old 04-10-2004, 12:59 PM
Charter Member
Disclosing my occupation on the 1040

Just finished filling out my income tax forms this morning, and the last question on the 1040 form -- after asking for your signiature -- is "occupation." What's the point of that? Is the IRS collecting demographic information? Would I get in trouble if I answered "rodeo clown" or "hit man" (given than neither of those accurately describes my current profession?
Old 04-10-2004, 01:28 PM
I'm no expert - not a lawyer nor accountant nor IRS worker, but I think you *could* get in trouble, since you sign the whole form 'under penalties of perjury.' I have no idea if they'd actually bother to take you to task, though.
Old 04-10-2004, 01:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by anson2995
Just finished filling out my income tax forms this morning, and the last question on the 1040 form -- after asking for your signiature -- is "occupation." What's the point of that? Is the IRS collecting demographic information? Would I get in trouble if I answered "rodeo clown" or "hit man" (given than neither of those accurately describes my current profession?
IANA IRS auditor but my mom answers taxpayer questions for the IRS. I dont think it really matters what you put. She has seen returns where people claim they are drug dealers, prostitutes, pimps, etc. About all they really care about is are you paying the proper amount of taxes on your income, not how you made it. In addition it apparently takes some kind of hefty federal level warrant to get the IRS to release any information about you.

So unless law enforcement can get the proper warrant to get your tax info, they will not even know. The federal gov't is not in the business of handling street crime, unless IIRC it crosses state lines.
Old 04-10-2004, 02:15 PM