Old 06-17-2004, 11:58 PM
Charter Member
Name question: Chaim

How does one pronounce the most often seen as Jewish name Chaim? I've always looked at it as being pronounced with a long a, as we would pronounce the word "claim." But I'm suddenly struck with the possibility that the two vowels might form their own syllables, and I've never known a Chaim IRL with which to discuss it.
Old 06-18-2004, 12:07 AM
I'm pretty sure it's pronounced "Haim", rhyming with "time". That's how I'm told the late Chaim Potok pronounced his name.
Old 06-18-2004, 12:10 AM
I always thought it was like the song in Fiddler on the Roof. ("To life, to life, L'chai-im!")
Old 06-18-2004, 12:11 AM
You're probably screwed before you start, as the 'Ch' represents a phoneme most English-speakers can't pronounce. Think the ch in 'loch' or 'Bach', a kind of gutteral h-with-other-untranscribably-stuff-added. If you speak German or Russian, you know what I'm talking about. (When I worked in a lab here in New York full of Germans, they were all amazed by my ability to pronounce Jochen's name properly, as they'd never met an American who could do that.)

Getting beyond that, it's got two syllables, Cha-yim. The first syllable rhymes with Hah, ie has the same 'a' as 'father.' The second syllable is pretty much like I wrote it, rhyming with 'Jim.'
Old 06-18-2004, 12:12 AM
Charter Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rilchiam
I'm pretty sure it's pronounced "Haim", rhyming with "time". That's how I'm told the late Chaim Potok pronounced his name.
I thought it was more drawn out than that and had a guttural "k" sound at the beginning, much like the "ch" sound in German.

Take the word Chai (that nasty tea drink), but start with a guttural "k", instead of a "ch", then add an "em" sound on the end. I'm sure someone of Jewish descent will come along shortly to tell us both how wrong we are.
Old 06-18-2004, 12:14 AM