Old 07-01-2004, 10:24 PM
Um..., do 'flat' chested women have difficulty breast feeding?

I'd be glad to hear annecdotal evidence as either a first hander or a person close to someone who has experienced this.
Not sure what constitutes flat. Maybe anything less than a B cup?
I shall re-word the question in a more proper manner.
Do women of A cuppedness have a problem keeping up with nursing or do such smaller women make up for their smallish breasts by producing at a higher rate, whereas a larger woman could store more and would not have to go into production mode as often?
I may as well state the reason for my inquiry. A self admittedly smallish breasted co-worker has become pregnant and she expressed some concern over the matter when asked if she would breast feed the newborn.
A proxy thanks to those who respond. I intend to summarize the responses and forward them to her in a verbal manner.
Old 07-01-2004, 10:29 PM
Charter Member
I am by no means an expert at women's health issues, but I recall being taught in medical school that the milk producing equipment is essentially the same from woman to woman and the size of the breast is more dependent on the extraneous fat that accounts for a majority of the size of a [non-lactating] breast. The milk producing equipment being the nipple, lactiferous ducts, etc.

I was trying to think of a good analogy to another part of anatomy... I suppose one could say that human brains are all about the same size, but head size can vary greatly. Let me see if I can go find a cite for either of these conjectures.
Old 07-01-2004, 10:35 PM
Charter Member
Ooops, what am I thinking? This is IMHO...although it actually could be GQ since there is a factual answer.

From Zembo CT - Obstet Gynecol Clin North Am - 01-MAR-2002; 29(1): 51-76

Quote:
Assure patient that breast size does not affect milk production. Amount of adipose tissue determines breast size
Old 07-01-2004, 10:40 PM
Charter Member
While I'm at it here's the other one...