Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Old 08-12-2004, 04:53 PM
Guest
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ess Eff
Posts: 2,129
Does this exist: Wireless Cable TV "router"

Here's what I want to do. I have a cable running into the house -- standard Cable TV coax cable. Is there some sort of "router" or transmitter that I can hook it up to so that my TV, several rooms away, can then receive the signal and get cable?

Sorta like wireless internet, except for cable TV.

Bonus: if such a thing does exist, any recommendation? Experiences with such a system?
#2
Old 08-12-2004, 05:31 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 815
First of all, if you plan to have both TVs operating at the same time, that is theft of services. With the legalities out of the way, if you have your TV in the living room connected to cable but like to watch TV in bed or in your den, switching the signal to another TV when the primary TV is turned off is permissible.

All you need is a splitter (http://radioshack.com/category.a...1%5F006&Page=1) placed between the box and the TV. However, you would have to control the channel on the 2nd TV through the box on the 1st TV, which means both TVs would play the same channel if both were turned on.

You could also try placing the splitter before the box. Depending on how much of your cable signal is scrambled, you might be able to get your broadcast channels plus a few more on the 2nd TV.
#3
Old 08-12-2004, 05:37 PM
Guest
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ess Eff
Posts: 2,129
Ehh? First of all, there is no box. The cable is is just running in. The tuning is done through the TV itself. Second of all, how does your post make my second TV wireless?

Sorry, I'm not quite following.
#4
Old 08-12-2004, 05:37 PM
Guest
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #clique
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cillasi
First of all, if you plan to have both TVs operating at the same time, that is theft of services.
Not necessarily. My provider allows for multiple TVs. I suspect many others do too.
#5
Old 08-12-2004, 05:42 PM
Guest
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cillasi
You could also try placing the splitter before the box. Depending on how much of your cable signal is scrambled, you might be able to get your broadcast channels plus a few more on the 2nd TV.
This assumes that Jayrot has a box. Many cable services (mine included) have no box at all. Just straight coax from the wall into the TV.

As an aside, what would be the legality of splitting the cable signal to another TV when you don't have (or need) a cable box?
#6
Old 08-12-2004, 06:05 PM
Guest
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Up there, waiting
Posts: 17,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Random
This assumes that Jayrot has a box. Many cable services (mine included) have no box at all. Just straight coax from the wall into the TV.

As an aside, what would be the legality of splitting the cable signal to another TV when you don't have (or need) a cable box?
Our local cable company used to charge for extra outlets in houses. After much complaining, they dropped this rule. As long as you setup doesn't interefere with anyone else's service, you are free to split the signal to your heart's content.

Of course, if you don't want to do it yourself, they will do it for a fee.
#7
Old 08-12-2004, 06:07 PM
Guest
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ess Eff
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
they will do it for a fee.
Hence the question. Any answers? The sticky point here is the wirelessness. I don't want a huge coax cable draped across 2 or 3 rooms.
#8
Old 08-12-2004, 06:14 PM
Guest
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Up there, waiting
Posts: 17,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrot
Hence the question. Any answers? The sticky point here is the wirelessness. I don't want a huge coax cable draped across 2 or 3 rooms.
Where does the cable come in?

It would be great if it came into the attic. Then you could split it and run the extra wiring into the walls of the rooms where you want cable access. You can install wall plates.

You'd have to fish the wires through, but you'd never know the cable was there.
#9
Old 08-12-2004, 07:37 PM
Charter Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Libertyville, IL
Posts: 482
I don't have any experiences with it, but there's this.

It doesn't accept coax as an input, but perhaps you can buy a convertor on the front that goe from coax to three RCA jacks? There's also this and this, the last one getting a 5 star rating from 30 the previous people that purchased it.
#10
Old 08-12-2004, 07:49 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Taint of creation
Posts: 33,150
Here

Wireless Cable TV Kit CATV2400

This does exactly what you want, and has a built in cable tuner and lots of other features.
#11
Old 08-12-2004, 10:02 PM
Guest
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ess Eff
Posts: 2,129
FANTASTIC! Much thanks astro and aaelghat
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: [email protected]

Send comments about this website to:

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

Copyright © 2017
Best Topics: pod schools incontinentia buttocks meaning homemade sedatives cyanide capsule backwards pistol septic tank dumping cover bridges ascii cent amonia and bleach jugular cut wail on him wilt chamberlain dunk from free throw line is dewalt a good brand grandpa from king of the hill cocoa butter black people birds starting with x falling asleep in meetings how much to tip for car wash how much is laser mole removal how to rotate a graph drew carey theme songs public embarrassment car accident charlotte web spider type will splinters come out on their own