Old 02-25-2008, 10:46 AM
Accounting types: Why do I credit a Revenue acct. when I make a sale?

I'm an accounting beginner, using only online tutorials, and I just ran across something that stumped me: The text said that if I make a sale, I am to credit a revenue account, and debit cash/AR. Wouldn't a revenue account be an asset, and the sale an increase, which would make it something to be debited?
Thank you,
Greatshakes
Old 02-25-2008, 10:52 AM
No, try to think about revenue as the other side of expense. You have revenues and expenses, assets and liabilities. If you pay a bill, that isn't a liability (though you are paying off a liability)
Old 02-25-2008, 02:57 PM
The most confusing thing about starting to learn accounting is that "credit" and "debit" don't really mean what you'd think they mean, based on how you deal with your personal finances. The key thing to know is the basic accounting equation:

Assets = Liabilities + Equity

which can be expanded to

Assets = Liabilities + [(Owner's equity) + (Revenues - Expenses) - Dividends]

If you shuffle the terms around to get rid of negative signs you have

Assets + Expenses + Dividends = Liabilities + (Owner's equity) + Revenues.

Think of "debit" as "left" and "credit" as "right", so when you debit something on the left, you increase it; when you credit something on the right, you increase it. Conversely, if you credit something on the left, you decrease it, and if you debit something on the right, you decrease it.

Since the two sides of the equation have to stay equal, debiting cash (an asset, on the left) means you need to either debit something on the right, or credit something on the left, to keep the equation balanced. A credit to revenue balances a debit to cash.
Old 02-25-2008, 03:19 PM
Charter Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwakura43