View Poll Results: Is Furniture too expensive?
Yes, somehow, like diamonds, it has defying market forces. Life is unfair. 51 68.92%
Shut up and take out your credit card, punk. 23 31.08%
Voters: 74. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-05-2011, 02:14 PM
Non-dirt-floor sitters: Why is furniture so expensive? I don't get it

I'm new to the home furnishing stuff, I barely understand the different between a side table and a console.

So . . . Ok I went to Crate & Barrell to look at sofas and to get a five seat section goes for $2700 (+tax and delivery), and that's for cotton fabric or polyester 'microsuede'.

$2700 for polyester? Why so dear $$$? I can get a decent used car for that (with some left over for oil changes and gas for the next six months too).

I checked out Ikea and it was cheaper, though not that cheap, and had a but do-it-yourself-particle-dorm-room feel to it and is not very lasting.

And I noticed a beautiful furniture company called Ligne Roset, everything they make looks good, some incredibly good, but the cost is beyond comprehension, a simply coffee table (nice though it looks) going used on craigslist for a fraction of the retail but still over $1000.

Ok, why so much? And what is the connection between furniture and North Carolina? And is Ligne worth the extra money? At the prices I've seen at Crate & Barrell, I'm tempted to pick up a book on carpentry and stop by the lumber yard this weekend and make my own.

Last edited by No Wikipedia Cites; 08-05-2011 at 02:16 PM.
Old 08-05-2011, 02:26 PM
A lot of furniture takes skilled labor to produce. Skilled labor is remarkably expensive.
Old 08-05-2011, 02:28 PM
Wood doesn't grow on trees.

Uh.
Old 08-05-2011, 02:35 PM