Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Old 08-26-2013, 11:29 AM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N of Denver & S of Sanity
Posts: 12,586
Getting the TI-84 to do it MY way

One problem with the TI-84 is that even in normal mode, it shows answers with an absolute value less than 0.001 in scientific notation. The problem is if the answer is 0.00045, I want it to show up in my students' calculators like that and not 4.5e-4. How can I get the TI-84 to display the data like that.*



*If the answer is it can't because fuck you HP knows what you want to do better than you do then that is a major design flaw in the "standard" calculator.
#2
Old 08-26-2013, 12:57 PM
Guest
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 1,246
This might help. Or maybe not.

Last edited by mcgato; 08-26-2013 at 12:57 PM.
#3
Old 08-26-2013, 01:04 PM
Guest
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,602
I don't think you can really blame HP for problems with your TI-84. But I could be wrong.
#4
Old 08-26-2013, 01:42 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N of Denver & S of Sanity
Posts: 12,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by aNewLeaf View Post
I don't think you can really blame HP for problems with your TI-84. But I could be wrong.
I think I can when THEY program it to not show data in normal mode even if the calculator is set to normal mode.
#5
Old 08-26-2013, 01:53 PM
Charter Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: SW Side, Chicago
Posts: 44,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Cad View Post
I think I can when THEY program it to not show data in normal mode even if the calculator is set to normal mode.
I could be wrong, too, but I don't think Hewlett Packard had much to do with the Texas Instruments TI-34 calculator, either.
#6
Old 08-26-2013, 02:25 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N of Denver & S of Sanity
Posts: 12,586
DOH!!!!

[tinfoil hat]It's a conspiracy of all the large electronics companies[/th]
#7
Old 08-26-2013, 02:34 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12,056
their tentacles reach everywhere.
#8
Old 08-26-2013, 02:56 PM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,025
Are you sure it's not in Engineering mode? I say this because you say that numbers > 0.001 appear normally.

From what I have read, 0.00045 "shouldn't" appear as 4.5E-4 in normal (as opposed to scientific or engineering) mode; it should only force scientific mode if the number requires more than 10 digits to display properly.

Also make sure it's in "float" mode, rather than a fixed number of digits.
#9
Old 08-26-2013, 04:30 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 8,858
On the Ti-84 Plus C Silver Edition (which we just got, so the instructions aren't lost yet), you push the button <mode>, then can select between normal, sci (scientific) and eng (engineering). You want normal.

Last edited by ZenBeam; 08-26-2013 at 04:30 PM.
#10
Old 08-26-2013, 05:14 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N of Denver & S of Sanity
Posts: 12,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Cad View Post
One problem with the TI-84 is that even in normal mode, it shows answers with an absolute value less than 0.001 in scientific notation.
OK yes I check to make sure it in NORMAL MODE. Even in NORMAL MODE, the calculator puts answers within 0.001 absolute value in scientific notation even if the calculator is in NORMAL MODE.

Just to clarify, the calculator is in NORMAL MODE when it does this.

So stop telling me to put it in normal mode. That doesn't answer my question.
#11
Old 08-26-2013, 07:08 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 8,858
I was playing around with ours some more, and I can confirm what Saint Cad is saying (I didn't have enough zeros earlier). The cutoff is 0.001. In normal mode, numbers 0.001 or higher will display in normal notation. Numbers slightly lower, e.g. 0.0009999999, will display in exponential notation. This happens even if the number of digits is set small enough that it rounds off, displaying 1E-3. Since changing the display mode works correctly for numbers bigger than 0.001, I'd guess there's no way to make smaller numbers like 0.00099 display that way.

Last edited by ZenBeam; 08-26-2013 at 07:09 PM.
#12
Old 08-26-2013, 08:57 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 28,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Cad View Post
*If the answer is it can't because fuck you HP knows what you want to do better than you do then that is a major design flaw in the "standard" calculator.
No, the answer is "fuck you, RTFM." Pages 20-22. If you want to see five decimal places, set the Float setting for five decimal places. That may help, or you may get sick of all of your calculations being to five decimal places. You'll have to try it yourself. My TI-86 is still MIA, I fixed a TI-83 for my daughter then she gave it to a friend, and if you'll excuse me I will go back to fixing my TI-81, which is the first of most of the TI-8x line.
#13
Old 08-26-2013, 09:46 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 28,761
Well, that went faster than I expected, since it sat in my trunk/boot for five years.

No, "float" is just two letters longer than "fix" without the extra points for using X and without actually working, like it does on Casio calculators. Time to teach the kiddies scientific notation, and if they are too young and ignorant for that a TI-84 is wasted on them, it having been the height of technology in 1996.
#14
Old 08-26-2013, 09:53 PM
Guest
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,602
Make 'em use slide rules.
#15
Old 08-26-2013, 10:44 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 28,761
Fuckin' A. Where will they be when their batteries die?
#16
Old 08-27-2013, 09:41 AM
Charter Member
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The Land of Cleves
Posts: 77,463
Quote:
Make 'em use slide rules.
If I ever find myself teaching high school math, I literally and honestly do intend to require slide rules, at least for a week or two. Even if they're not practical as a tool, in the age of calculators, they're still great for teaching things like properties of logarithms and justified precision.
#17
Old 08-27-2013, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 28,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
justified precision
Was ist das? Is it like how the most significant digits are the bigger ones and as you move to the right you should care less and less what they are, but a calculator shows you all of them as if they were equally important? Or is it how, with a slide rule, you need an idea of what the answer should be so you know where to put the decimal point?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: [email protected]

Send comments about this website to:

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

Copyright © 2017
Best Topics: double parking illegal asia carrera husband dope joke mushroom spores legal h2s hybridization the godfather connie john mcenroe show luz bone md plates volume ml explosion onomatopoeia is genesis italicized i like pie origin throwing up every 10 minutes is joining the marines worth it will uninstalling a steam game delete my saves do i need to turn off gas when power goes out eye exam at dmv i've fallen and i can't get up song how to rotate a mov file 90 degrees does sudafed keep you up wrong name on billing address