Old 04-04-2014, 01:12 PM
Do you hate arugula?

In the early nineties I graduated high school and worked on a tiny farm for a summer. Most of the farm produce was delicious, and I ate it all.

Except arugula. I'd never heard of it before, and when I smelled it the first time, no kidding I thought there was a dead animal nearby. My first taste was somewhere between rubber cement and corpses, and I couldn't wash the taste out of my mouth for a long time. A single leaf of it in a salad was enough to ruin the salad for me. Even being near it was terrible.

Years of exposure to arugula have enabled me to tolerate it, but only barely: I still won't eat it if I can politely avoid eating it. And yesterday when I took my daughter to our garden and tasted a new sprout from the mixed greens we'd planted, I was horrified to realize that the mix contained arugula: even a single sprout of the plant is chock full of nasty.

Is this a common reaction to this green? I've never had another green that I dislike so intensely. I wonder (especially since my mom has a similar reaction) if there is some sort of hereditary component, similar to what may exist (I've read disputing articles) regarding cilantro.
Old 04-04-2014, 01:21 PM
Charter Member
It's mildly bitter, but I can't imagine having such a strong reaction to it one way or the other. Just another salad green to me.
Old 04-04-2014, 01:30 PM
It's a vege-tuh-bull!
Old 04-04-2014, 01:31 PM
The Turtle Moves!
Charter Member
Meh. I can take or leave it, and really don't like all the chefs out there who put it in/on everything.
Old 04-04-2014, 01:33 PM
I love it. In salads, on sandwiches, or sauteed and used in an omelet.
Old 04-04-2014, 01:33 PM
On the contrary, I look for excuses to eat more of it. It's my go to green alone or mixed with other letti.
Old 04-04-2014, 01:37 PM
I find it bitter and unpleasant, but not to the extent you describe LHoD. It's possible you're just more sensitive to that particular flavor than most people.