Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Old 05-10-2014, 05:39 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: the front of beyond
Posts: 4,112
Firefox: how can I get my forward arrow back?

Firefox has updated, and the forward arrow that I use frequently has disappeared, and furthermore, I can't find it at all in the view:toolbars:customize interface.

Please tell me that there is some way of recovering this function. I will roll back if I have to. (but I'd rather not.)

Last edited by brujaja; 05-10-2014 at 05:40 PM.
#2
Old 05-10-2014, 05:56 PM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 627
The forward button in FF 29 is still there, just to the right of the back button, but it's hidden if there's no page to go forward to.
#3
Old 05-10-2014, 07:02 PM
Charter Member
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Displaced
Posts: 15,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fridgemagnet View Post
The forward button in FF 29 is still there, just to the right of the back button, but it's hidden if there's no page to go forward to.
Confirmed. You only get a forward arrow if there is a page to which you went "forward" from the page you're at now.

Last edited by JRDelirious; 05-10-2014 at 07:03 PM.
#4
Old 05-10-2014, 07:25 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17,924
Which I just confirmed by noticing it's not there while I'm in this thread but is when I exit it.
#5
Old 05-10-2014, 08:08 PM
Just Lovely and Delicious
Charter Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 24,505
I'm guessing not the "forward" arrow but the "go" button which used to be at the end of the address bar alongside the "refresh" button. But it went away a few versions ago, maybe 26? I know I downloaded an add-on to re-add it but I don't see the arrow in my bar anymore since upgrading to 29 so I'm guessing the add-on didn't update. I think it was called Locationbar.

Now, all you have is the X while the page is loading and the "refresh" button in its stead once the page has loaded, but that's it.

The "go" button is very handy when you're doing web development and need to re-load a page but not-refresh it, because when you refresh it's going to re-submit your form. If you hit the "go" button it just goes to the url in the address bar anew.

Otherwise, not sure who else it's useful for. But I don't get out much I haven't needed it since I upgraded to 29 but it's only been a week and I just haven't developed any new forms.

Is that what you mean, brujaja?
#6
Old 05-10-2014, 09:25 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 848
My forward arrow is still there, courtesy the LittleFox theme
#7
Old 05-10-2014, 09:45 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CentralArkansas
Posts: 23,807
I remember years ago when Microsoft introduced the "disappearing" menu options based on context. Graying them out was so much better and intuitive for beginners. Menus that change based on context are confusing.

Thats what Firefox just did. hey! Theres no current page in front of the one you're on. So lets make that arrow disappear and F with all our users' heads. Only the really smart users will know whats going on. That attitude in software development is so arrogant.

Gray the arrow out for gosh sakes. Just like you did since Netscape.

Last edited by aceplace57; 05-10-2014 at 09:48 PM.
#8
Old 05-10-2014, 10:41 PM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: the front of beyond
Posts: 4,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceplace57 View Post
Only the really smart users will know whats going on.
The really smart users who are looking for formerly detached icons to be now attached to the location bar, that is. Oh, hell, that's probably why they attached them to the location bar -- for those people who would not get a left-facing and right facing arrow unless the implied verb was physically attached to its object.

Thanks, all!
#9
Old 05-11-2014, 01:00 AM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maui
Posts: 890
Don't forget this extension:

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=2773133

This is the "Classic Theme Restorer" extension. Very useful to bring back some of your favourite things missing in v29
#10
Old 05-11-2014, 01:39 AM
Guest
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 5,692
Classic Theme Restorer, fiddling with the customize menu, or the combination of the two brought it back for me. (I don't remember exactly what all I did the day it updated. I know I fiddled with it a lot.)
#11
Old 05-11-2014, 01:46 AM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maui
Posts: 890
A couple of days ago I updated to v29 from v28 by opening the "About Firefox" window and checking for updates, as I knew that v29 was available. Didn't like it at all, even with the Classic Theme Restorer; it seemed unstable.

I went and downloaded v28 found on the net and reinstalled. Fine and dandy. Then yesterday, on opening Firefox I saw that it had actually updated itself to the new version v29.01 without me doing anything. Surprising, I didn't think that could happen.

Anyway, v29.01 seems to have fixed a few instability issues. And with Classic Theme Restorer, I am working with it now and more or less content.
#12
Old 05-12-2014, 01:45 PM
Guest
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 12,312
Classic Theme Restorer allowed me to put the Reload button back in it's proper place. That was bugging me. I still wish I could get the Back/Forward buttons to how they used to be.
#13
Old 05-13-2014, 01:31 AM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,314
This post on the Mozillazine site (links at the bottom) might help in returning Firefox to its past layout and functionality, insofar as that's possible.

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2824649&sid=cdc9e909f620224a22c2ccb5fab82cf3
#14
Old 05-13-2014, 02:52 AM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 8,423
If you really want it there all the time, even when there's no page to go forward to, add the following to your userChrome.css:
Code:
#forward-button[disabled=true]{visibility: visible !important; margin-right: 25px !important; opacity: 1 !important;}
#15
Old 05-13-2014, 03:11 AM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maui
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenm View Post
This post on the Mozillazine site (links at the bottom) might help in returning Firefox to its past layout and functionality, insofar as that's possible.

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2824649&sid=cdc9e909f620224a22c2ccb5fab82cf3

seriously bad link
#16
Old 05-13-2014, 05:44 AM
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 8,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by bardos View Post
seriously bad link
Just copy and paste it instead of clicking. Or click it now:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewto...c2ccb5fab82cf3
#17
Old 05-13-2014, 06:12 AM
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maui
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reply View Post
Just copy and paste it instead of clicking. Or click it now:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewto...c2ccb5fab82cf3
Yes, I've done that.
#18
Old 05-13-2014, 08:53 AM
Guest
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 18,811
Can I hijack this with a related problem? I don't like how Firefox now no longer puts the title of the active tab at the top of the window. Instead, I only have truncated labels for each tab. For instance, here on the Dope, if I want to see the full title of the thread I'm reading, I used to have it up at the top of the window, above all the tabs. Now all I can see is the title of the tab, which right now is only large enough to show half the thread title. Any way of restoring that overall title?

Does that even make sense?
#19
Old 05-13-2014, 12:50 PM
Guest
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 12,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smeghead View Post
Can I hijack this with a related problem? I don't like how Firefox now no longer puts the title of the active tab at the top of the window. Instead, I only have truncated labels for each tab. For instance, here on the Dope, if I want to see the full title of the thread I'm reading, I used to have it up at the top of the window, above all the tabs. Now all I can see is the title of the tab, which right now is only large enough to show half the thread title. Any way of restoring that overall title?

Does that even make sense?
I hated that too.

Click the stupid menu button (3 horizontal lines, on the right side.) Click Customize at the bottom. Then click the Title Bar button at the bottom. I'm pretty sure that's how I did it.
#20
Old 05-13-2014, 01:05 PM
Guest
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by bardos View Post
seriously bad link
That'll teach me to never post a URL from my iPad.
#21
Old 05-13-2014, 02:50 PM
Guest
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 18,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by control-z View Post
I hated that too.

Click the stupid menu button (3 horizontal lines, on the right side.) Click Customize at the bottom. Then click the Title Bar button at the bottom. I'm pretty sure that's how I did it.
Bless you.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: [email protected]traightdope.com

Send comments about this website to:

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

Copyright © 2017
Best Topics: waterworld dryland define qua zenni sunglasses review naive symbol thomas topham japanese generals sultry man gatorade alcohol teller voice marijuana spelling stapling papers noniodized salt skipper vs captain average face size how to make block ice at home federal jury duty san diego driving car with blown head gasket shut the front door origin how is tso pronounced bank of america autopay credit card where to find etrade account number us citizenship gift ideas what alcohol goes with eggnog bug bites under clothing left justification in word