Old 05-26-2014, 10:22 AM
Anybody can disable "invisible" email tracking software?

Sites such as this provide "invisible" automatic email tracking. A sender who wants to know what you did with his email, sends the email to the tracking provider company, who then send it on to you, presumably with a spy payload attached. From that point on, the email apparently sends out a stream of information clandestinely, regarding if you opened it, how long you kept it open, did you forward it, and so on.

I guess it could help nail a small minority of users who might claim they never received an important email in time, but other than that, this is a violation of online privacy (or whatever is left of it). What I do with my email is strictly my business. Besides I hate the idea of clandestine transmission of data from my computer, even for an innocuous purpose.

How can I disable such feedback? Do I need special software?
Old 05-26-2014, 12:22 PM
I am not an expert on this. I believe most of this tracking is done with hidden embedded images. In your email program, go into the Settings and make sure you disable "Automatically Display External Images"or something similar.

Here is what Gmail says:

Quote:
How Gmail makes images safe

Some senders try to use externally linked images in harmful ways, but Gmail takes action to ensure that images are loaded safely. Gmail serves all images through Googleís image proxy servers and transcodes them before delivery to protect you in the following ways:
  • Senders canít use image loading to get information like your IP address or location.
  • Senders canít set or read cookies in your browser.
  • Gmail checks your images for known viruses or malware.