Old 01-10-2015, 06:54 PM
Tipping for furniture delivery

So this morning we had a chair and ottoman delivered. Originally, it shouldn't have been a big deal, but we,live on a hill, which was icy, and there was construction of our street. The driver need up having to back down our narrow street, and he and his assistant (college kid) had to carry the items up,the hill. I gave the driver a $20 in front of the assistant and said "get yourself some lunch." The driver kind of gestured at the kid, like I should give him the money, but is was kind of committed by that point. My wife said she saw the driver give the kid the $20. Did I accidentally insult the driver? By way of background, I worked as a driver's helper in my 20s and my attitude was I did exactly what the driver wanted and nothing more. I figured by giving the tip to the person in charge he'd make it right. What do you all think?

Last edited by madmonk28; 01-10-2015 at 06:55 PM. Reason: Sorry for typos, I'm on phone
Old 01-10-2015, 07:26 PM
Charter Member
What kind of company was it? If it was from a small store you very well may have ended up with a father and son and it could have been dad telling you to give the kid the money. Similarly, the driver could have been the owner or a manager or just well enough off that he wanted the assistant to have the money. Or maybe the kid just did the majority of the work and he thought it was the kid that deserved it.
Old 01-10-2015, 07:27 PM
It was Room and Board, a large chain.
Old 01-10-2015, 09:12 PM
$20 is a nice tip. You did good. Don't worry where it ends up.
Old 01-10-2015, 11:17 PM
Charter Member
I've given money to delivery people (they're always men it seems, so "delivery men") but I worry when I give it to one of a team of two - I never know if the first guy pockets it and stiffs the other guy, or if they share all the time.
Old 01-11-2015, 03:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGalt View Post