Old 02-09-2016, 08:14 PM
Is Dewalt THE top tier brand?

I work in construction and obviously I see a lot of different contractors. Years ago, I noticed most construction guys had a lot of Milwaukee brand tools and quickly everyone switched to Dewalt brand. I rarely see anything but Dewalt's these days.

My foreman is in his 50's. He owns a lot of Craftsman brand tools, buys their more premium stuff but claims Dewalt is not the best but he would say so wouldn't he?
I only own one Dewalt product which is a drill. It's fine I guess as far as drills go but was pricey. I have pretty good luck with Black n Decker tools plus they're more reasonably priced.

I'm curious why Dewalt brand tools are so heavily used or do you see other brands used more often in your area?
Old 02-09-2016, 08:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeXen View Post
I work in construction and obviously I see a lot of different contractors. Years ago, I noticed most construction guys had a lot of Milwaukee brand tools and quickly everyone switched to Dewalt brand. I rarely see anything but Dewalt's these days.

My foreman is in his 50's. He owns a lot of Craftsman brand tools, buys their more premium stuff but claims Dewalt is not the best but he would say so wouldn't he?
I only own one Dewalt product which is a drill. It's fine I guess as far as drills go but was pricey. I have pretty good luck with Black n Decker tools plus they're more reasonably priced.

I'm curious why Dewalt brand tools are so heavily used or do you see other brands used more often in your area?
Dewalt is not the best brand nor is it the worst. You frequently see tool popularity in patches. If Bob is happy with his Dewalt, Jeff the guy working with him may pick up the same. This continues and everyone on the job site is now working with Dewalts. If Bob had started with a Makita things may have turned out differently.